Use a randonly generated title or type a name for your session and press "Start meeting"
Add your visible user name for the meeting (this does not have to be the same as your May First user account) and pess Join meeting
Under the "waiting for Moderator" dialog window press "Log In". Enter your May First user account name and password to authenticate. You will become the default Moderator and see an [M] icon next to your visible name.
The invite link is identical to the URL for your meeting. You can copy it from the url field in your browser or the invite dialog. Anyone who receives the link can access the meeting in a browser.
In the toolbox, click the Invite people icon and copy the meeting link.
Send the link to others using your preferred method outside of Jitsi.
When the lobby is activated participants who attempt join with the meeting url must wait for the moderator to approve their request to join the room. The moderator can Approve, Reject and even Chat with the waiting participant. Check the participant list to see how many people are waiting and choose to admit them individually or all at once. You can disable the lobby at any time in the Security settings.
If you have activated password protection, share the password with selected participants through an outside private channel. Participants with the correct password can enter the meeting directly.
If you have enabled the password and disabled the lobby participants connot enter without the password and cannot request to join.
The Moderator options inside the Settings menu allow you to control the initial state of a participant's microphone and camera when they first join the meeting along with other meeting wide settings:
Everyone starts muted - When first connecting participants microphones will be disabled even if they were enabled before joining.
Everyone starts hidden - When first connecting participants cameras will be disabled even if they were enabled before joining.
Everyone follow me - Participants will see the same layout when the moderator switches between tile view or pins participants to the stage.
Recorder follows me - Jitsi's internal video recording mechanism will follow the moderator's layout.
Mute reaction sounds for everyone - No one will hear sound effects when someone enters and exits room or uses reaction emojis.
Open the settings for an individual participant by clicking on 3 dots *** in the top right corner of their corresponding tile (or next to their name in the participants ane). From this menu access the following moderation actions:
Mute just this participant (or if already muted Ask to unmute)
Mute everyone else mutes everyone but this participant.
Stop video Disables the camera just for this participant.
Disable camera for everyone else Disables camera for everyone but this participant.
Stop screen-sharing just for this participant.
Stop screen-sharing for everyone else
Grant Moderator Rights to add this participant as an additional moderator.
Kick out Removes this participant from the meeting.
Moderators cannot remotely turn on another participant's microphone, video or screen sharing.
¶ Restrict participant microphone and camera access
Moderators can disable all participant's ability to enable their mic or camera if needed.
Click on the participants icon to open the participants pane. At the bottom of the participants pane click on the 3 dots *** to the right of Mute all button. From this menu you can choose to enable or disable participants ability to:
At this time manually creating separate Jitsi meeting urls for each breakout room is the most reliable way to split into small groups on the May First Jitsi instance.
Caveats:
A moderator must manually create and keep open each breakout room.
Participants must manually connect to breakout room urls and manually return to main meeting url when instructed.
Consider using the same URL with additional numerical digits for each breakout room.
Open the participants pane by clicking on the button 6th from the left (the icon with 2 people). The participants pane opens in the right corner with a list of everyone in the meeting. Place your cursor over the name of participant you want to assign. Once you hover over the name, a three dots button will appear. Click on the three dots and within the menu towards the bottom, select the name of the room you want to send them to. If a participant is already in a room, find their name in the drop down of participants beneath the breakout room name. Click on the three dots next to the participants name to assign them to a new room
Return participants to the main room
Open the participants pane. Next to the breakout room names, click on the three dots and select remove room. Removing the room brings participants in that room back into the main room.
Exiting a breakout room as a participant
Open the participants pane. In the right side of the screen there should be a red button that says exit breakout room.